The Mapmaker

 

Laid. A view looking to the northeast along th...

Image via Wikipedia

 

My heart and soul are ready to embark on this journey.

My mind – well, not so much.

To be honest, I am overwhelmed.  There is just so much to do, so much to wade through, that I just don’t know where to start.

So last night I met with the head Mapmaker.  I spent quite awhile discussing my concerns, and my fears.  As I laid all this on His drafting board, I found myself beginning to relax.  I started to look around and see the beauty around  me – my children, my husband, a job, the ability to make this month’s mortgage payment, the sunlight that streamed through my windows all day.  I was even able to see the beauty in the meltdown my oldest daughter had after school.  I was able to see where her journey intersected mine and how we worked together to deal with the emotions she was experiencing.   Standing there in the loft of our house, gazing out at the quiet night, I was able to breathe deeply and let go of some of the fear of the unknown.  I could feel my strength growing so that I could pick up my suitcase and head out on my journey.   Before long I was grinning, because I had just found my first gift on the first day of the trip.  It was the gift of Thankfulness.

2 responses to “The Mapmaker

  1. I have a friend that does thankful thursday on her blogs just to take a day to thank the Lord for what she has. I always feel so good when I participate with her. Because no matter what…there are always so many blessing to count – even in the midst of the challenges.

  2. What a beautifully written, insightful, grateful post. Your journey will affect not only you, but everyone in your life as well. Have a peaceful weekend.

Leave a Reply

