Sorry about the whine

Yesterday’s post was so whiney!  I sincerely apologize for that.   It was just one of those days.  Actually it has been one of those weeks.  I can’t honestly say why, just that I feel totally discombobulated and can’t get myself motivated or organized.

So today is a new day and a new attitude.  I AM going to get my 15 minutes of activity in.  I did make it up and in the shower and had breakfast this morning.

One bit of whining that I did the day before yesterday was about playing Candy Land and painting toe nails and finger nails.  I am ashamed of myself.  Those moments, no matter how tired I was, were definitely gifts.  How many more evenings am I going to be the best partner to play board games with?  How many more evenings will I be begged to paint her nails (even if the feet were a little stinky!)?  I shocked myself that I got so caught up in making sure she did not cheat during the game that I almost missed the grin and gleam in her eye as she tried to win.  I am not pleased at my behavior when she would not sit still and potentially ruined her pedicure.  What was I thinking?  Does a 6-year-old CARE that her nails are perfect?  Is she going to turn into a compulsive cheat because she wanted to win at Candy Land and was just having fun trying to sneak one by me, all the while knowing that I knew what she was doing?

Last night was my “do-over” night.  We did not have anything planned.  My oldest watched her favorite shows she had DVRd.  Baby girl came upstairs and played in the loft area as I finished up working.  She talked to her Barbies, she sang, she talked some more, she sang and sang.   The girls stood at the kitchen table while hubby and I finished up dinner preparations.  We ate our dinner. Hubby and I sat and had a few minutes together while the girls went upstairs and wrote in their journals.  Hubby and my oldest needed to practice their Tae Kwon Do, and the only place with enough open floor space is the living room.  Baby girl and I laid down on the couch together while the other two members of the family went through their form.  Baby girl tucked herself behind the bend of my knees and the back of the couch and perched her chin on my hip to watch her daddy and sister.  She gave me a running commentary the whole time, pausing for breath only a couple of times.  Before long she laid her head over to the side and started moving her legs around in the final fight moments before I felt her get a little heavier and her breathing slowed down and she started snoring.  We laid there for 30 minutes – I just did not want to let go of the moment.  It had been a perfect evening of family, relaxation and peace.  I am so glad that I was given a Do-Over Moment.

Has anyone else ever had the chance for a do-over?

7 responses to “Sorry about the whine

  1. I had to back up and read the post you were referring to (that one snuck in under my radar without me knowing it was there, the stinker!)
    I don’t think you were whining. And you don’t need to feel guilty for being a little overwhelmed (which is more of what it sounded like to me). We all get tired and need moments to breathe. The fact that you reflected on this and pulled out your gifts of the moment is exactly what I wanted to read. So many times we’re so busy, we don’t appreciate the things that’s closest to us. You do that. Reading about your daughter singing and playing with her barbies just tugged at my heart; they are demanding but so darned cute at that age.

    • Thanks for the support, Ellen.
      She is adorable, even when she is demanding. Tonight will be another night where I can “redeem” myself since my oldest and hubby have TKD. I wonder what game she will pick out tonight. Maybe I can convince her to do a workout tape with me!

  2. Thank God for do-overs. Good for you for taking advantage of it. Those sleepy time snuggles are the best. Enjoy!

    • You are so right. I am glad that God does give us those do-over chances! I truly enjoyed every second of snuggling!

  3. This post has moved me to tears. I have a 6 year old girl, and 8 year old boy and 18 year old girl. My 18 year old has always been the apple of my eye while my two little ones, who I love dearly, are NOT my 18 year old..they are very challenging little ones. My little girl in particular, just wants me to sit and do her nails or color or play a game, and all too often, I find myself whining about it.

    I want a do over. All she wants to do is snuggle. and paint her nails and play games. Is that too much of her to ask of her mama? 😦

    Thanks so much for this reminder. I have a little one to go snuggle with! 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Julie! I have a link to a great article about this topic that I am going to post about this week. I look forward to hearing what you think about it!

  4. Pingback: Not sighing « Seeking the Gift of the Moment

Leave a Reply

