Status Check

Status check  –

Morning routine

Get up and in the shower

Do hair (now I have added make-up to the routine so that I can run out the door at a moment’s notice, and also so that I look good for hubby)

Get Fully Dressed

Eat Breakfast

Take morning medications

Have now been successful for 19 straight days!

Exercise

purposefully move for 15 minutes a day

This does not include routine movement like going to the fridge, the facilities, etc.

I have chosen to not try to do this 7 days a week.  I am aiming for 5 days a week.  Sundays will be a “rest” day, where I don’t have to think about it at all.  If I do it, great.  If I don’t, I am not going to stress about it.

Yesterday was kind of iffy.  It was movement, it was purposeful, but I am really stretching it to say that I got any benefit from it.  Today I spent with a 16#, 4 month old who was still fussy from his shots.  Needless to say I did a lot of slow walking, but I was carrying him.  So I am going to count that. Last week I got 3 days in where I fully did some very purposeful, continuous movement.

I am going to see how this week works before I add anymore goals into the mix.   I am proud of the strides that I am making.  When I started this I really doubted my ability to do it.  Now I am excited and know that I can continue to move forward.  I have found that while this journey is hard, it is much more rewarding than I thought it was going to be.  I have also found that by slowing down, analyzing why I am making a particular goal, and keeping them small but meaningful, I can make get farther than I ever dreamed!

2 responses to “Status Check

  1. You are SO on a roll, MM! Nineteen days strong (and I know it was a rocky start for you) but you’ve managed to do it. Bravo! Does it feel like it’s becoming more of a habit now, or is it still slow-going?
    If you’re anything like my night-owl husband, you should get some added benefit from the time change that’s coming up this weekend – an extra HOUR of sleep!!

    • It honestly does feel like it is more of a habit. While my tendency is to want to stay up at night, I don’t stay up as late because I know that I will have a rough time in the morning. I made a decision last night to actually add a goal, but it is related to the getting up goal – it is my going to bed routine. I am going to iron out the details and blog about it later. Thanks for the encouragement! It means so much!

Leave a Reply

