Honesty is not truly the best policy….

I am going to relate this story because I thought it was hilarious, even though there was a bit of a sting to it.   But because I can see some of the changes my journey has made in my life and in my health, the sting was not as bad as it would have been just a month ago.  And when it comes from a 6-year-old, well, they call ’em as the see ’em.

 

We were watching a show called “Deadliest Journeys”.  This particular episode was about Bolivia.   They discuss how farmers in the mountains use a series of zip wires to get across the deep valleys.  Honestly, they don’t look that safe.  In one scene they show a man bundling his child up in “bag”, tying the bag to the pulley and then straddling the bag (not sitting on it, but keeping it between his legs),  hooking himself to the pulley and off they go across the wire.  My youngest was NOT impressed.  In fact she was quite indignant about the whole thing.  She immediately recognized the potential danger to the child.  My thoughts were going in a direction about how dangerous a lot of things are in different cultures, but you do what you have to do.   Then a remark caught my attention.  She was informing me that we could never do that.  Curiosity won and I asked her why.  In all her childish innocence she informs me that we could not do that together because I was “too big” and would break the wire.  She just looked at me with her big brown eyes.  Then she goes on to talk about how the people who use those zip lines are much smaller than I am.  Since they are from Bolivia’s mountain ranges and the tallest one looked maybe 5’5″, I am choosing to believe that she meant because I am so tall.  That’s my story and I am sticking to it!

4 responses to “Honesty is not truly the best policy….

  1. I wonder what E would think about seeing a family of 3 riding on a moped in China?? 🙂

    And I’m with you… She definitely meant that you were too tall!!

    🙂

    • When I was said I was thinking about other cultures, that was exactly what I was thinking about!

  2. Oh, yes. I’ve been the victim of many a red face from the comments kids make. When I was a size 22, my breasts were ginormous. A little girl I knew sat on my lap and immediately got off, saying, ‘you don’t have enough lap for me and those things are too big!’ She pointed right at one and poked it. I was so embarrassed!

    • ROFLOL! That is hilarious. While we were exercising one day my youngest looked at me and asked if exercising would make my breasts get smaller. When I asked if she wanted them to get smaller she nodded vehemently and said they were just too big! It was so funny. It is amazing how much those remarks don’t bother me as much as they used to, and I have not even dropped a dress size yet!

Leave a Reply

